fbpx
by Maëlle Viaouët
January 21, 2019

Interview with Victoria.L, founder of TSEEGAN (sunglasses made in France)

Victoria grew up in a family of opticians – a trait that may determine one’s career in glasses. For the last few months, she has made a home for herself in the world of glasses makers.

She styles herself as the creator and founder of a brand that she also owns: TSEEGAN. Her sunglasses are available through an exclusivity deal and can be found in her Soho, NYC shop.

She’s presenting here her brand, her trademark and her beliefs.

Victoria gave us this exclusive interview in which she reveals everything about her professional projects (almost everything…).

“Look and Read…”

the interview

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

You are today the creator of TSEEGAN, a sunglasses brand whose production is 100% made in France with passion. What has been the brand’s history? Where does its name come from? The bohemian inspirations? Is it linked to your family history: opticians from generation to generation?

VICTORIA

I am the daughter and the grand-daughter of opticians. My parents own a chain of optician’s shops. Ever since I was a girl, I used to repeat: « I will never work in the world of opticians ». And yet, every summer, I helped them (inventory management, collections, website). I steered a bit away from it by focusing on fashion and I made a path for myself by studying marketing, management and working as an assistant for Whitewall Magazine in New York.
Two years ago, I decided to create my brand. An apparel brand – that was the idea at first. And then, I thought about it. You can’t “bit the hand that feeds you”. I come from a family with a grandfather who started with nothing and who followed his ideas, and a father who is in charge of developing the family business.

At the end of the day, I decided to create a glasses brand. One thing to know: glasses are some of the most accessible luxury products, second only to fragrances – people can enjoy it without emptying their wallets. It was a way to go back to the family business by my own means. I therefore created my 100% handmade collection in France. I was looking for the French know-how. The Jura region is the birthplace of the glasses industry and the factory which produces my glasses is the last one to assemble acetate and metal. Nowadays, most of the made-in-France productions are gone, and great designers like François Pinton or Lafont are disappearing. The made-in-France label was thereby a challenge for me.

The word TSEEGAN comes from the word « tsigane », which means « a wayfarer », « a traveler ». There’s a pun with the English verb SEE, which refers to my own vision, my artistic direction, as well as to the look behind the glasses. When I was a student at Istituto Marangoni, eight years ago, we were tasked with creating a fashion brand including its name, its logo, and a business plan. I conceived a beachwear brand designed for destinations such as Saint-Tropez or Saint-Barth. Its style was both casual and smart. I registered the trademark at the INPI (the French National Institute of Industrial Property) eight years ago and I thought to myself: one day, I will do it.

This day happened and I took the name back, since I own it and it’s a lucky charm to me. Its name fits me: I’m lucky enough to be well-traveled and to have enjoyed far-away destinations. My slogan is actually about travel: « glasses inspired by my travels and designed for yours ». A pair of glasses is something you can bring everywhere, especially when travelling. The collection is inspired by my travels and designed for yours.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What’s been your path? You were born in Paris and you now live in NYC, so what happened between both?

VICTORIA

I graduated with a Bachelor and an MBA which I studied for in Paris and with evening classes. During the day, I used to work as a brand manager assistant for Zadig et Voltaire. One day, during the Fashion Week, I happened upon my former « future » boss, the founder of the Whitewall Magazine of « art & luxury lifestyle ». He offered me an internship in New York and I left it all overnight. It began like this. I worked for him for quite a while. We would organize events in various cities and I was in charge of setting up an insider guide showing off the best places all around.

My former boss, Michael Klug, is someone I really care about. Through his magazine, his contacts… He’s nowadays repaying me for all the work I did by his side.

I finally came back to Paris for a year, meaning to learn and work by my parents’ side and close to the glasses factories. I was also able to refocus and redefine my priorities.

I’ve been back in NYC for only three weeks and I opened a shop at 25, Prince Street. My glasses are showcased there and share the space with Soludos, a seven-year-old espadrille brand. At some point, the place will be redesigned into a concept-store. I would like to offer showcase space to some fresh-out-of-school French designers so that they can benefit from exposure in NYC. I believe helping each other is necessary in such a cruel world (I was lucky to get support for my own project). It’s my turn now to provide opportunities to these potentials.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Do you have a specific way to create?

VICTORIA

I believe that we are the makers of our own reality. The more we think that we can achieve something, the more we actually do, if we take the necessary steps to do so. Nothing is free: we need to work for it. In life, one doesn’t face obstacles but challenges. We can’t always get yeses. We have to try again: nothing is lost. Everything changes. All the time.

The people I’ve met and the journeys I’ve been on are the reason I was able to open up and gain interest in more spiritual matters. I refocus and find energy thanks to yoga – it makes me creative. I also believe that one needs to share their ideas, because nobody has all the answers and we always, always need feedback.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What is creativity to you?

VICTORIA

Well… (uncertain). We all are artists if we can explain what we do (why we have made something that way and not the other way around). I took art and design classes at the Guggenheim Museum and I created various pieces, sometimes close to street art or to collage. At first, I was ashamed to present my paintings, but one day, the teacher asked me to display my art to the rest of the class and explain my artistic decisions. That’s creativity: being able to explain your choices.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Why did you open a shop in NYC? And in Paris, soon?

VICTORIA

I believe that Paris relies too much on its « City of Fashion » reputation: it’s drowsy. To me, NYC is the real game changer: people are less cost averse here, they spend more. I lived in NYC for 3-4 years and my only goal was to go back there. Today, I have my own shop in Soho and my products can be found in France at the Montaigne Market and in other concept stores. I offer a high-quality product and I want its distribution to be exclusive. Even my own family doesn’t get to enjoy exclusivity!

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What would a typical Victoria-day look like?

VICTORIA

I don’t have a typical day or routine. I always begin my day with gym. Then, on to emails and order management. I stay at the shop all afternoon until 8pm. When I get home, time to cook – I love having people over – and to read.

These days, I’m reading Robert T. Kiyosaki ‘s Rich Dad Poor Dad, who explains the legacy a father can have regardless of his fortune, and the differences between both those material situations. Afterwards, I go to sleep, and the following day, it all starts over differently. I always keep my motto in mind: « going with the flow » – each day is a brand-new day.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What’s your motto (which you repeat all arond you) ?

VICTORIA

I very much like « go with the flow » and « your reality is what you make of it ». Those are sayings which I like to recall, and repeat to myself. There’s also this Richard Branson quote, a quote my father is also very fond of: « everything you've ever wanted is on the other side of fear ».

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

You live in NYC. Where do you go out? What place would best define you (where you feel at home) ? And in Paris?

VICTORIA

I used to go out a lot, lot, lot… Now? Noticeably less (laughs). My favorite restaurant is an Italian place near my home, Via Carota. You need to queue, but the food is so exquisite that it’s worth it. In Paris, I like to visit my gym coach: it’s the first thing I do when in town. She helps me refocus.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What could we find on your desk? Is it rather tidy or messy? What objects have a life of their own on it? Does it mean anything?

VICTORIA

My desk is most often a mess, but I know my way around it. Sometimes, I tidy everything up. You may spot around a piece of energy wood: some palo santo. I fill the whole room every night with its smoke so that it permeates it with a nice scent. This stick is a nod to my character’s « personal development ».

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What type of sunglasses do you wear and why?

VICTORIA

I change them everyday. I wear a bit of everything. There’s one that has been named after me and that I use more often. Before, I used to be partial to FENDI. Now, to TSEEGAN.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What does the future hold for TSEEGAN? A new collection? Some secret we could share around?

VICTORIA

I have to start designing the new collection and I’m a bit late, but it isn’t going to lag much longer though! The last few weeks have been quite busy with the shop’s opening. I would like to launch one collection a year. A secret to share? Well, it’s not really one: I only wear prototypes, with a flaw that I’m the only one to spot (there’s either a missing logo or a wrong glass color).

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

One last word?

VICTORIA

Good luck to Diane for her project. She has my support. She is someone who is ready to fight for what she believes in, who doesn’t lounge on a counch waiting for things to get done. We both have ideas. We both think outside of the box, we are travelers, we are independent!

fbpx
par Léa Taïeb
janvier 21, 2019

Interview de Victoria L., fondatrice de TSEEGAN, marque de lunettes de soleil

Victoria a grandi dans une famille d’opticiens. Une famille qui prédispose (peut-être) à la lunette.
Depuis quelques mois, le clan des lunetiers est le sien. Elle se définit comme créatrice et fondatrice d’une marque qui lui appartient : TSEEGAN.

Ses lunettes de soleil se distribuent selon un principe d’exclusivité et dans sa boutique de Soho, à New-York. Ici, elle raconte sa marque, sa marque de fabrique et ses convictions.

Victoria nous accorde cette interview exclusive au cours de laquelle elle nous dévoile tout (enfin presque…).

Regardez. Lisez…

l'interview

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quelle est l’histoire de cette création ? D’où vient le nom ? D’où viennent les inspirations bohèmes ? Est-ce lié à votre histoire familiale : opticien de génération en génération ?

VICTORIA

Je suis petite-fille et fille d’opticien. Mes parents ont une chaîne de magasins d’optique. Depuis petite, je dis : « je ne travaillerai jamais dans l’optique ». Et pourtant tous les étés, je mettais la main à la pâte (au stock, pour les collections, sur le site internet). Je m’en suis un peu éloignée, en me dirigeant vers la mode, j’ai fait mon petit bout de chemin en étudiant le marketing, le management et en travaillant en tant qu'assistante de Whitewall Magazine à New York.

Il y a deux ans, j’ai décidé de créer une marque. Une marque de vêtement, c’était l’idée initiale. Et puis, j’ai réfléchi. Il ne faut quand même pas “cracher dans la soupe”. J’ai un background, avec un grand-père qui est parti de rien, qui s’est lancé et un père qui développe l’entreprise familiale.

J’ai donc décidé de créer une marque de lunettes. Il faut savoir que la lunette est le 2ème produit de luxe accessible après le parfum : c’est se faire plaisir sans dépenser une fortune. C’était un moyen de revenir vers l’entreprise familiale, à ma façon. J’ai donc créé ma collection 100% fait main en France. Je tenais au savoir-faire français. Le Jura, est le berceau de la lunetterie et l’usine qui produit mes lunettes est la dernière à assembler acétate et métal. Aujourd’hui, il n’y a pratiquement plus de productions made-in-France et de grands designers comme François Pinton ou Lafont sont en voie de disparition. C’était donc, un challenge pour moi de fabriquer français.

Le nom TSEEGAN, reprend le mot tsigane qui veut dire « une personne du voyage », « un voyageur ». Il comporte un jeu de mots, puisqu’il y a le verbe anglais SEE qui fait référence à « ma vision des choses » et « le regard à travers les lunettes ». Quand j’étudiais à l’Institut Marangoni, il y a 8 ans, il fallait créer une marque de vêtement, avec un nom, un logo et un business plan. J’ai imaginé une marque de vêtement (de plage), prévue pour des destinations comme Saint-Tropez ou Saint-Barth. Le style était à la fois casual et élégant. J’ai déposé le nom à l’INPI, il y a 8 ans et je me suis dit : un jour je le ferai.

Ce jour est arrivé, et j’ai repris ce nom, puisque c’est quelque chose qui m’appartient et qui me porte chance. C’est un nom qui me correspond : j’ai eu la chance de beaucoup voyager, d’aller à l’autre bout du monde. Mon slogan reprend d’ailleurs l’image du voyage : « des lunettes inspirées par mes voyages, créées pour les vôtres ». La lunette, c’est un accessoire qu’on emmène partout, surtout en voyage. C’est une collection inspirée de mes voyages et réalisée pour les vôtres.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quelle est votre histoire personnelle (votre parcours) ? Vous êtes née à Paris et aujourd’hui vous êtes à New York, que s’est-il passé entre Paris et NY ?

VICTORIA

Je suis diplômée d’un Bachelor et d’un MBA que j’ai suivi à Paris et en cours du soir. La journée, je travaillais en tant qu’assistante chef de produit chez Zadig et Voltaire. Un jour de Fashion Week, par hasard, j’ai rencontré mon ancien « futur » boss qui est le fondateur de d’un magazine d’ « art & luxury lifestyle » : Whitewall. Il m’a proposé un stage à New York et je suis partie du jour au lendemain. On a commencé comme ça. J’ai travaillé pour lui, assez longtemps. On organisait des événements dans certaines villes et j’étais en charge de la mise au point d’un insider guide qui contenait les meilleures adresses sur place “whitewaller”.

Mon ancien boss Michael K est quelqu’un que je porte dans mon cœur. Et aujourd’hui, via son magazine, ses contacts… Il me renvoie l’appareil  : à ses côtés, je me suis particulièrement investie.

Je suis finalement rentrée à Paris un an, pour apprendre, travailler aux côtés de mes parents et à côté des usines de lunettes. Je me suis aussi recentrée : j’ai compris quelles étaient mes priorités.

Je suis de retour à New-York depuis seulement trois semaines et j’y ai ouvert une boutique au 25 Prince Street. J’expose mes lunettes, et je partage l’espace avec une marque d’espadrilles Soludos qui existe depuis sept ans. Par la suite, l’espace de la boutique sera revu pour en faire un concept-store. Je voudrais exposer plusieurs designers français, des jeunes sortis d’école, pour qu’ils puissent avoir une vitrine à New-York. Je pense que dans ce monde de bruts, il faut s’avoir s’entraider (j’ai eu la chance d’être accompagnée dans mon projet). C’est à mon tour de donner à ces potentiels, une chance.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Vous avez une façon de créer ?

VICTORIA

Je pense qu’on est créateur de sa réalité. Plus on pense qu’on va réussir, plus on y arrive, si l’on s’en donne les moyens. On n’a rien sans rien : c’est du travail. Dans la vie, on ne fait pas face à des obstacles mais à des défis. On n’a pas tous les jours des « oui ». Il faut toujours réessayer : rien n’est perdu. Tout change. Tout le temps.

C’est grâce aux rencontres, aux voyages que j’ai pu m’ouvrir et m’intéresser à des choses plus spirituelles. Je me recentre et ressource grâce au yoga, activité qui me rend créative. Je pense aussi, qu’il faut partager ses idées, parce que personne n’a la science infuse, on a besoin de feedbacks, en permanence.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Votre définition de la créativité ?

VICTORIA

Hum (hésitations). On est tous artiste si on est capable d’expliquer ce que l’on fait (pourquoi on fait les choses de telle manière et pas d’une autre). J’ai pris des cours d’art et design New York Art du Guggenheim Museum et je produisais des choses un peu différentes, j’étais assez proche du Street Art, j’étais dans le collage. Au début, j’avais honte de présenter mes tableaux et un jour, le prof demandé d’exposer ma toile et d’expliquer mes décisions artistiques, au reste de la classe. C’est ça la créativité : avoir la capacité d’expliquer ses choix.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Pourquoi une boutique à NY ? Bientôt à Paris ?

VICTORIA

Je pense que Paris vit sur sa réputation de « ville de la mode » : elle dort. Selon moi, c’est New-York qui fait la pluie et le beau temps, parce qu’ici on est moins frileux, on dépense plus. J’avais vécu à New-York pendant 3-4 ans et je n’avais qu’un but, c’était de revenir. Aujourd’hui, j’ai ma boutique à Soho et je suis vendue en France au Montaigne Market et dans d’autres concepts-store. J’ai un produit de qualité et la distribution, je la veux exclusive. Ma famille ne dispose même pas de l’exclusivité !

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Une journée avec vous ressemblerait à quoi ? La journée-type ça existe ?

VICTORIA

Je n’ai pas de journée-type. Je commence toujours ma journée par une séance de sport. Puis, je gère emails et commandes. L’après-midi, je suis à la boutique jusqu’à 20h. Je rentre chez moi, je cuisine (j’adore recevoir à la maison), je lis mon livre. En ce moment, je lis « Père riche, père pauvre » de Robert T. Kiyosaki. Il livre des enseignements sur ce que transmet un père qu’il soit riche ou pauvre et les différences qui existent entre ces deux situations matérielles. Après ça, je m’endors et le lendemain, je recommence autrement. J’ai toujours en tête ma devise : « going with the flow », chaque jour est un nouveau jour.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Votre citation – manifeste (que vous partagez à qui veut l’entendre) ?

VICTORIA

J’aime beaucoup « go with the flow » et « on est créateur de sa réalité ». Ce sont des expressions que j’aime me répéter. Il y a aussi une citation que j’emprunte au créateur de Virgin, Richard Branson et que mon père utilise beaucoup aussi : « Tout est de l’autre côté de la peur ».

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Vous vivez à New York, vous sortez, vous allez où ? Un lieu qui vous représente (là où vous vous sentez chez vous) ? Et à Paris ?

VICTORIA

Avant je sortais beaucoup, beaucoup, beaucoup, maintenant je sors moins (rires). Mon restaurant préféré, c’est un petit italien, juste à côté de chez moi, Via Carota. Pour y aller, il faut faire la queue assez longtemps, ça vaut le coup : c’est délicieux. Et à Paris, je rends visite à ma prof de sport : c’est la première chose que je fais quand je viens à Paris. Avec elle, je me recentre.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Sur votre bureau, qu’est-ce que l’on pourrait trouver ? Est-ce rangé ou plutôt désordonné ? Vous laissez traîner quoi ? Ça révèle quelque chose ?

VICTORIA

C’est souvent le bazar mais je m’y retrouve. Parfois, je range tout. Ce que l’on peut voir traîner, c’est un bout de bois énergétique : le palo santo. Il donne une odeur agréable à la pièce puisque j’enfume le bureau du soir au matin. Ce bâtonnet fait référence à mon côté « développement personnel ».

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Vous portez quoi comme lunettes de soleil ? Quel modèle ? Pourquoi ?

VICTORIA

Je change tous les jours. Je porte tout. J’ai un modèle qui porte mon prénom, et que je porte un peu plus souvent. Avant, ma marque de prédilection, c’était FENDI. Maintenant, c’est TSEEGAN.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quel avenir pour TSEEGAN ? Une nouvelle collection ? Un secret à ne pas garder ?

VICTORIA

Je dois commencer la nouvelle collection et je suis un peu en retard, mais ça ne va pas tarder ! Avec l’ouverture de la boutique, ces dernières semaines étaient tumultueuses. J’aimerai lancer une collection par an. Si j’ai un secret à partager, qui n’en est pas un : je ne porte que des prototypes, avec un défaut qui n’est visible que de moi (soit le logo manque soit la couleur du verre n’est pas « la bonne »).

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Une dernier mot ?

VICTORIA

Bonne chance à Diane, pour son projet. Je la soutiens. C’est une personne qui se bouge, qui se bat, qui ne reste pas sur son canapé, à attendre que les choses viennent. On a toutes les deux, des idées. On sort des sentiers battus, on voyage, on est indépendantes !